Federer wins Australian Open’10..British dry spell lengthens


Roger Federer bulldozed the British’s ray of hope, Andy Murray, in Australian open finals to extend his career Grand Slam tally to 16.

And Murray’s defeat means that the 74-year-wait for a British male Grand Slam singles champion goes on.

Fred Perry was the last British man to win a major at the 1936 US Open.

From the word say go, Federer was in devastating mood breaking Murray’s opening service game when he leaped to a second serve and fired a forehand down the line to lead 2-0.

Murray was also in mood to quite, rallied immediately, breaking Federer’s serve to huge cheers from the crowd with consecutive passing shots – one which the Swiss star even had to applaud.

Federer had to save three break points in the fifth game before holding with back-to-back aces. He then broke Murray in the eighth game, lifting his intensity in perfect time so that he could serve for the set.

Australian Open Finals: Roger Federer def Andy Murray

Roger Federer (1) 6 6 7
Andy Murray (5) 3 4 6

Federer dominated the second set after breaking Murray’s serve in the third game and later winning the set quite comfortably.

However, the third set was a thriller, with both the players displaying a wonderful game of tennis. Murray had his chances to make a comeback but he failed to convert the points, which could have made a huge difference to the match. He had a number of set points in the tie breaker (3rd set) but Federer kept his cool and in the end, it was Federer who won the finals in straight sets.

An emotional Murray was close to tears afterwards, saying: “I can cry like Roger, it’s a shame I can’t play like him.”

He added: “I’d like to congratulate Roger, his achievements in tennis are incredible. To keep doing it year after year is pretty special. He was much better than me tonight so well done to him for that.”

Federer responded: “Andy, well done for your incredible tournament. You’re too good a player not to win a Grand Slam so don’t worry about it.

“I’m over the moon winning this again. I played some of the best tennis again of my life these last two weeks.”

3 comments

  1. Hello! bdbbcbk interesting bdbbcbk site!

  2. hey this blog is great. I’m glad I came by this blog. Maybe I can contribute in the near future. PM ME on Yahoo AmandaLovesYou702

    1. Thanks Lawerence for appreciation of my work. I will look forward to catch you on my blog.